Art classes before we leave dry land

My husband Robb is such an interesting man, on one hand he is this rough and tough gun toting, expert trainer of self defense-ready to protect us at the drop of a dime, Robb Hamic Miss Lone Starbut on the other hand, to my utter delight he is a lover of all things art. Robb has even started studying photography (under my tutelage) and has just recently purchased a new Canon 6D. And did I mention he didn’t think twice to include a lens I have been swooning over for quite some time, the Canon 85mm f/1.2 L (I’m so spoiled). For though of you are not familiar with the latest and greatest camera gear, the 85mm f/1.2 is a must have if you are portrait photographer.

Recently I was going through our office here in our Austin Texas home, and came across an old field journal of Robb’s from the Persian Gulf War. Robb had many charcoal sketches with cryptic text written in swirls throughout the images. I was so impressed; I had no idea that he had that kind of talent and desire to create from such a young age. Robb was just a boy during the Persian Gulf War, only 17-years old when he jumped out of a plane onto the battlefield. The thought of this is just inconceivable to me, nonetheless I am happy to know that in spite of it all, he still see the beauty in all that is around us.

Field Journal ArtI myself love art and often use watercolor. I have been encouraging our young children, Blake (3) and Bianca (5) to keep field journals of their own, in preparation for our trip. I think this will make such a neat keepsake to have, especially living aboard Miss Lone Star and having so much opportunity to get our hands on interesting little creatures. Here on land, we often take walks and collect little things to bring home and paint. The kids really enjoy this and so do I.

After finding Robb’s field journal I have been asking him if he would like to take an art class with me, I thought it would be a really great experience to hone in on our art skills before we left the mainland. Not to mention we will be spending our days amongst the most beautiful nature scenes on this earth. He agreed, and for Christmas I bought him all of the watercolor supplies I could find at the local arts and crafts store.

The very next day after opening his Christmas gift, he found an amazing art teacher here in Austin, and signed us both up for 12 weeks of classes. If there is one thing I know for sure, it’s who is getting the “Best Husband In The World” mug this year! We start at the end of the January and I could not be more excited. I am really looking forward to have some knowledge to pass down to the kids. Our youngest daughter Bianca tells us that she wants to be an artist. This is also the reason she says her room is a mess… “Artist don’t pick up after themselves Mommy” I’m pretty sure she has gathered this insight from the state of my photography studio, after any given session.

I feel like we have been in Austin for such a short time that I really do want to try to explore this proud state before we leave it. IMG_2568I am going over in my mind the things that may be difficult or even impossible to do while living aboard a boat. I want to be sure to get it all out of our system while our boots are still on dry land.Miss Lone Star

Next stop Country dancing… believe it or not my husband is a very talented country dancer (and dance teacher) too, and has promised to help me tame my two left feet before set out on our voyage. We will have to find someone with good humor to get this on video; I am such a hot mess, our two year old can boogie with more grace.

The image above on the right is the start of Robb and I dancing the night away at a wedding this summer. I think my skill level from the look on

Robb’s face is pretty apparent. Midnight rodeo here we come!!

Aubrey Signature

9 thoughts on “Art classes before we leave dry land

  1. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back at some point.

    I want to encourage one to continue your great writing, have
    a nice evening!

    Like

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this website needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to
    see more, thanks for the info!

    Like

  3. Very nicee post. I just sthmbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing adound your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Like

  4. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really loved browsing your blog posts.

    In any case I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

    Like

  5. Estoy realmente realidad encantados a mirada a página web consiste en montón de útiles
    datos , gracias por proporcionar tales ellos datos .

    Like

  6. After looking over a handful of the articles on your site,
    I seriously like your way of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark website list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Take a look
    at my web site as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

