Just a little Sunrise

Beautiful “Mountain Shasta” as our 5 year-old Bianca calls it, in the early morning light. I love all of the color in this image, my next project may be attempting to recreate this with water-colour.
Mt ShastaThis was taken over looking Mount Shasta, California in the early morning at my mothers ranch. This is where I use to sit and drink coffee with my mom every now and then, although I am not missing the snow, I’m sort of a warm weather kind of gal. If only I could be ‘snow bird’. This mountain is so beautiful and ever-changing, there are about a zillion pictures of it hung on the store walls of Siskiyou County.  This people loving portrait photographer will be taking a swing at landscape photography a little more often now that my husband has purchased that sweet little Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 L lens. I am beyond excited to be taking that little baby with me on our upcoming trip to STX this month!!!

The image above was shot with the Canon 5D Mark III and a 24-70mm f/2.8 L. I used a tripod and took several images in succession, then pulled out my needle and thread and sewed them together in CS6. I only used a 10% overlap, so this image looks amazing and tack sharp on a 2 foot by 6 foot canvas that hangs in my Mother’s Wine bar.

D94A6603-EditpostI am having to learn to love my tripod, as you cannot do with out one when shooting landscapes in low light, this is a far cry from the children and wedding photography that permits me from using one, unless of course my little client is tied up, or my bride has polished off the champagne and passed out in the corner, my clients are moving (If any of my Brides are reading this I’m sorry, I love you). It is defiantly new to me, being unable to control the light on a mountain or elusive wildlife with my strobes or speed lights as I can in my portrait work. On the other hand this mountain won’t take one look at the proofs and ask me to give her a digital diet.

The above image of the doe with her twin fawns was taken as most wild life images are taken, by luck and chance. I was at the wildlife preserve doing a senior portrait session and just happened to have my 70-200mm f/2.8 L on my camera in my lap as we drove done the windy dirt road. This image was taken from my car window believe it or not! Quite a few of these have sold in different galleries. This surprised me a bit, stock images and wildlife work is a far cry from I feel I’m “good at”. I think it’s try that we are our own worst critics.

**Fun fact: There is another fawn behind the doe that is even smaller then her twins. Many times you will see does take in fawns who’s mama’s were struck by cars. About a mile down this road we came across a sassy little skunk, but I wasn’t feeling all that brash on this particular evening, I’m sure my teenage client was quietly thanking her lucky stars.

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

First Mate of Miss Lone Star

4 thoughts on “Just a little Sunrise

  1. You can certainly see your expertise within the article you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

