We Got Rid of Our Nasty Old Boat Mattress!!

My wife will have to give up her big bed!

My wife will have to give up her big bed when we move onto Miss Lone Star!

People don’t often write about their bedroom (stateroom for snooty types) on the boat.  Call me crazy, but I want to have a marvelous bedroom on the boat.  I think a mattress is always a good buy, especially for a liveaboard boat.  I have to admit, the old one we had was comfortable to me and I sleep well.  Some would say that I don’t have high standards and my opinions don’t matter.  I am writing this for all those people out there who want to sleep in comfort.

Our boat came outfitted with the standard “deluxe” three inch mattress that is worse than I had in basic training.  The previous owner added a nice pad and likely didn’t spend more than two nights aboard.  I found myself waking up wondering if my lovely wife put a hurting on me in the middle of the night because of this little snoring problem I have?  I would wait for her to wake up noticing every little inch of her face so that I might detect any lingering smirk or funny look.  I repeated this each time we slept aboard and I concluded that she never laid a hand on me.  It must be that F$#@!!*&%! mattress! Enough was enough.

I researched custom mattress companies who make odd shaped beds for the boat.  I found one that I liked and I was both amazed an shocked that one could obtain a mattress made by measurements for about $800.  SOLD.  It was simple and easy, just like I like my mattresses.  We took measurements as the company required and emailed the specs to the firm, based in the United States.  They charge around $50 to ship it to the marina where my boat is parked in a sinking dry Texas lake.  Upon arrival, all I have to do is drag it to the boat or chance the cart ride.  I will be happy to throw the old one away when our new comfy plush mattress arrives in the next couple weeks.

The new mattress will be almost as thick as the one we have in our bedroom and the size, although shaped like a irregular polygon, is that of a queen.  It will more than suit our needs and keep us well rested for a long journey.  I recommend the company that we are dealing with and they have an exclusive marine division dedicated to those crazy enough to move their bedroom onto a boat.  We are doing a number of renovations or modifications to Miss Lone Star and this seemed like good upgrade.  Sweet dreams to me!

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

9 thoughts on “We Got Rid of Our Nasty Old Boat Mattress!!

  1. Great photo! you know, people underestimate how important a mattress is! I splurged on mine as soon as I graduated college and had enough money, because if I sleep an avg of 8 hrs a day, thats 1/3 of my day in a bed, so it’s worth the investment to ensure you are comfortable and get that super beauty sleep!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have so much to do!! But it does seem to be falling into place and easier than I ever thought possible. After visiting the island and getting to know the people, we are hooked! – This is Robb responding but I will remind Aub to send you and email today. I hope things are well and you will come visit us.

      Like

  2. Magnificent web site. A lot of helpful info here.
    I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And obviously, thank you on your sweat!

    Like

  3. You are so interesting! I don’t believe I have read a single thing like that before.
    So great to discover somebody with some unique thoughts on this topic.

    Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is
    one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

    Like

  4. I got this site from my buddy who informed me concerning this web site and at the moment this time I am browsing this
    site and reading very informative articles here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

