Follow the light

It’s Sunday again, and spending the morning hours in Church always gets me thinking about how I can live my life, just a little bit better. After years of photographing children, I have come to know the honesty in them and the beauty of child like joy. It seems like even in the most desperate conditions, one can always find a child finding joy in the smallest of things. Below is an image I took of Bianca, we were at a (stuffy adult) dinner and she wondered off to the last light of the day shinning through an open door, She spent the next half an hour jumping and reaching for the warmth of the sun . When I saw the light pour over her as she reached for what looked like heavens doors, I was moved. I thought about how just a small ray of sunshine can illuminate the darkest of places.

The things I see

The things I see

Sun shine can come in many forms, hope, love, faith, forgiveness, trust, just to name a few.  As I list these things I think about my children and the many children I have worked with over the years,  not only do children help teach us by their profound need for our trust, faith and forgiveness in them, they also can show us what the strongest  form of these traits look like.  Most of us have long forgotten what it is like to whole heartedly believe in anything.

Growing up my parents raised foster children. I witnessed countless children come to us that had been beaten by by those who should be caring for them. Some of them had eating out of dumpsters just days before becoming a part of our family. Never the less when the time came, that their parents were clean of drugs, or released from prison they forgave them. Which whether they knew it or not, is the definition of what it means to be a Christian.  I believe that when we are born we are closest to Christ, and that over time the realities of the world around us darken our perspective.

After church on Sunday our family usually sits down to a nice dinner, we let the kids have the talking shell (a sea shell we pass around to help us remember who’s turn it is to speak) and they teach us what they know about God and what it means to be a good person. Bianca is often quick to remind me that “God made this beautiful dinner Mommy” and my first thought is No I made you this dinner! She reminds me to be thankful for all things big and small, not just the things that are  out of my control, that go my way by the grace of God.

Bianca and Blake’s trust in Heaven and God, is as strong as my conviction in the fact that the sky is blue and the grass is green.  So I ask myself how do I let go of my doubts from years of adult disappointments and find the most pure form of unselfish love, blind faith, hope and the sheer joy of a child? I want to notice that piece of glimmering light and bask in it, no matter how tiny or vast it seems to be.

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

4 thoughts on “Follow the light

Leave a Reply

