Could My Life Be Like Fine Art Class?

It is tricky to create fine art.  It seemed so elusive as I sat and sketched drawings of fruit and bowls.  I realize I have zero ability and I have to start somewhere but I was getting a little frustrated today in our class.  I found it hard to concentrate and I was zoning out.  I gave myself a break and realized that I definitely didn’t bring my A game today.  Daddy duty called loudly at 4 A.M today and I didn’t make it back to bed because of the trouble in minnion-land.  I find art theory very interesting and it is uncanny how I find new meaning from my life as I look at it through the filter of art.  It is hard to miss the parallels.

Fine Art is like Life

I was really concentrating on my work and our instructor asked if I thought my drawing was to scale.  I should’ve known she was setting me up for failure.  She gave me a mirror and I put it on my shoulder and took a look.  “Don’t look if you don’t want to see,” she said.  It was amazing how much I missed when I thought I had it nailed.  Perspective is a good thing.  I also noticed my lovely wife sitting next to me looking at herself in her mirror instead of her own drawing.  We locked eyes and she immediately knew I saw that she was goofing off.  She giggled and it was our little inside joke.  I waited for the teacher to get involved explaining something to another student and I whipped Aubrey with my string that was supposed to be used for measurements.  The cracking sound was audible as it smacked her head.  She squealed and stabbed me with her stick that was also supposed to be used for measuring.

I came to realize that I had in fact, grasped today’s art lesson.  Perspective is a good thing.  I realized that I have a good perspective on my life, which changes just like the drawing in front of me.  Life is comprised of good, bad, fun and boring.  I live for all of those moments and each one influences me.  I am so happy when I can be happy in the moment, which happens all the time.  It didn’t used to and I am so thankful for perspective changing the way my world spun.

I am happy with much less than I once had.  I am content to just be in the moment, knowing that I don’t need a lot of stuff to make me happy.  I am happy with what I have and I don’t have anything of any significance that I want, except more of the feeling that exists in my heart.  I’ve been all over the world doing all sorts of things in my time.  Looking back, I don’t think I lived happily in the moment during most of those times.  I can almost remember what I was worrying about or contemplating.  Almost.

I think this journal entry represents my realization that I am content to live my life now, not then.  Now, not tomorrow.  Today’s art class taught me that today’s perspective is different than the one I once had and that is OK.  It is a good thing to not need or want for happiness.

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

2 thoughts on “Could My Life Be Like Fine Art Class?

Leave a Reply

