Packing for 2 kids and a year’s worth of travel on a 38 foot boat. Part 1

What to pack for 2 kids and a year of travel on a 38-foot boat.IMG_2112

Every time I push the start button on the washing machine I have a moment of gratitude. I am very aware that in four short months, it will no longer be a part of my life and I will have to face the hard facts.

As it stands our 3-year-old son Blake, wears 2-5 pairs of underwear each day depending how adventurous his toilet trips are. One pair of socks, 1 tee-shirt, 2IMG_2111 pairs of pants and 1 set of pajamas.

Bianca our tiny 5-year-old fashionista, manages to put on most of what she owns before deciding what she will wear. After which, anything that has touched her body for more than 2 seconds is considered dirty. She wears 0-1 pair of underwear, 2 sets of pajamas and a set of bed sheets.

Robb and I do a slightly better job at trying not to over work our appliances, but we are the worst offenders when it comes to sheer volume of clothing articles owned. Robb denies this although, I’m pretty certain he owns close to 100 shirts and maybe 50 pairs of pants and shorts!

So this is what I’m thinking, I’m going to do a dry run. It seems reasonable to me to think that we will have access to a place to launder our clothing about once a week.

I am going to pack the kids clothing up, save one weeks worth of duds and see how we do.

Here is what I am going to leave out for our dry run:

  • 4 pairs of pants/shorts
  • 7 tops
  • 1 coat (we won’t be needing this where we’re going)
    •             We’ll swap this for 2 sundresses for Bianca
  • 2 sweaters
  • 7 pairs of underwear
  • 3 sets of pajamas
  • 5 pairs of socks
  • 2 swimsuits
  • 2 pairs of shoes

Hmm how many cubic feet/inches does this take up? How much does this weigh?

I will let you know how this is going in 7 days.. dun dun duuun…

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

One thought on “Packing for 2 kids and a year’s worth of travel on a 38 foot boat. Part 1

Leave a Reply

