What Is The Story Behind Your Pictures?

st croix, miss lone star, travel, blog, robb hamic, aubrey hamic, caribbean, cruising, living on a boat, fun, kids, liveaboard, homeschool, scuba

What is the story behind this picture?

I look at the Internet for many hours per day and I see a lot of pictures.  I’m sure it is normal for me to wonder about the story behind the picture.  In my case, getting there is only half of the problem and taking it can be another thing altogether.  I want to be a good story teller and we have so many great pictures.  I can only imagine how many pictures we will gather as we cruise throughout the Caribbean.

This picture was taken just a few blocks off of the water in St. Croix, USVI.  Aubrey and I took off from our apartment to go take some afternoon pictures as a nearby storm came over the island.  We had just stopped off close to our Jeep and bailed out water from a previous storm with a sponge she found on the beach.  I couldn’t figure out how to find the plugs in the floor board of it so we spent thirty minutes soaking up a few ounces with each dip into the gallons of rainwater.  We buttoned up the Jeep and set off on foot.  I had seen this corner and thought it would make a good picture.

We were in one of those unfamiliar neighborhoods that was starting to get really sketchy.  I wouldn’t feel comfortable going one block in a few directions but this place seemed OK.  I took the picture looking like a stupid tourist in the middle of the street.  I don’t remember many cars coming by as we took it.  Aubrey was looking for her perfect shot while I risked my life in the middle of the road.  I vaguely remember her looking into windows of a store or a house as I saw her out of the corner of my eye.

I looked at a few of my images in the digital viewfinder of the camera and I knew I wold be satisfied with at least one of them.   I hustled to catch up with my adventurous wife as she walked into someone’s yard to take a picture through the backyard.  I walked past a local man who looked at me like I was on crack.  I remember being somewhat grateful for him not trying to rob me.

Well, that’s it.  I’m sure our readers have so many stories behind the pictures they take.  I think people are interested at hearing the story behind the images that we capture.

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

Leave a Reply

