The Best Time To Take Pictures

st. croix, sun, splashing, waves, rocks, miss lone star, travel, #travelblog, #travel, #photography, photography, travel blog

Sometimes it takes a long, long time to get the right pictures!

My wife is a professional photographer and she has always said that the best light is at sunrise or when the sun is going down.  At first, I disputed this fact in my mind because I had always got what I thought were good pictures throughout the day.  Our trip to St. Croix taught me that I was definitely wrong about my thoughts on light.  We spent this afternoon stalking the perfect photos as the sun went down.  This was the first time I really saw all of the opportunities for amazing pictures as the sun went down.

A photographer has to be dedicated to pack all of the gear required, first of all.  You have to scout out great locations and then find interesting settings, second.  The camera settings have to be perfect and the focal point has right on.  Then it’s time to take pictures!  Repeat. Repeat.  Repeat.

I wanted to photograph this location for our entire trip.  We took pictures on the north side of St. Croix a few times but we hadn’t found the perfect spot, closer to the tip of the island.  We settled on the general area at about 3 PM and did some beach combing.  I found a lot of colored glass on this day, which filled my pockets.  I found several places that I wanted to shoot and spent a long time getting some great shots.  I think Aubrey took the photo that is pictured above this post.  It is hard to remember, after taking hundreds of pictures that day.

I remember seeing an eel in the surf and trying to spear it to prove my manhood.  I failed, but felt that it was a good try.  I lost one of my flip flops but it washed up on the beach a few hundred feet away.  I remember finding it just as all of the light was fading.  Our jeep was where we left it and I was happy as always that it hadn’t gotten stolen.  We were out of water but I think there were a few swallows left in a bottle in the Jeep.  We had a long drive home in the dark through the rain forrest and I am pretty sure we didn’t get lost.  It was a good day!

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

3 thoughts on “The Best Time To Take Pictures

  1. Excellent items from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff prior to and you’re just
    too fantastic. I really like what you have bought right here, certainly like what
    you’re stating and the way in which through
    which you assert it. You make it entertaining and you still care for
    to stay it wise. I can’t wait to learn far more from you.
    This is really a tremendous website.

    Like

Leave a Reply

