PADI Enriched Air Diver Specialty Certification

I completed the PADI Enriched Air Diver course tonight.  It was a good certification and I think it will be useful in for me in my diving career.  This seems like a good skill to add for any diver, especially people who are going on resort dives.  Most people take the class so that they can stay down longer than compared with normal air.  I took the class so that I can stay down longer to take pictures of all that goes on underwater. Enriched Air (Nitrox) is a blended gas that is usually 32% or 36% oxygen and divers who use it enjoy more dive time, longer no decompression limits  and more options for exploring the seas.  I know I will be diving in the Caribbean at 18 meters a lot and having nitrox will allow me to stay down for much longer.  At 18 meters air would allow me to dive for 56 minutes, 32% nitrox at 95 minutes and 36% nitrox at 125 minutes. The course instructs divers about limits, conversions and dive tables.  It also gives instruction on how to test your tanks to verify your mixture of gas, prior to the dive(s).  It gives details about special inspections that should be done and different equipment requirements and maintenance.  I especially liked the additional time to learn my dive computer and the integration that occurs for nitrox dives.  Being a new diver, I like more hands on use of the computer out of water.  I feel more self reliant because of this instruction and I am sure that it will be a much used skill. I found the PADI course to be strait forward and similar to all of the other training that I have received previously.  I like the standardized format together with the class instruction.  I was lucky that the small class size allowed for a one on one learning environment with the instructor.  It took one night to complete and cost about $200.

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

Captain of the Miss Lone Star

Leave a Reply

