Turning Slugs into Butterflies

Can a slug turn into a butterflyHands OnBlake found a slug in the yard a few weeks ago, and asked me if his new “Pet slug Theo” would turn into a butterfly?

Naturally I knew that I had to help him get to the bottom of this insightful question. So the next thing we did was consult the trusty ol’ internet. To Blake’s surprise the answer was, No Slugs Do Not Turn Into Butterflies,  and although he was disappointed, I thought this would be a great opportunity to do some hands on learning.  Slug into ButterflyWe found a popular site of a company that will send you all the supplies needed to grow your own butterflies. For $19 we were sent an enclosure and six caterpillars with enough food to last them until their metamorphosis. The whole process lasted about a month and both Bianca (5) and Blake (3), gained a new and beautiful understanding of our favorite fluttering little creatures. Natural ScienceDo your children a favor and help them grow a passion for natural science, it will take the “Mom I’m bored” right out of them. To order your own butterfly kit follow this link to Insect Lore.

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

13 thoughts on “Turning Slugs into Butterflies

  1. This is really fascinating, You are an excessively professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and stay up for in search of
    extra of your magnificent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your
    website in my social networks

    Like

  2. Fantastic site. A lot of helpful info here. I’m sending
    it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of
    course, thanks!

    Like

  3. Hi I am so happy I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Yahoo for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more,
    Please do keep up the great work.

    Like

  4. Having read this I thought it was rather informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this information together. I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and commenting.But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    Like

  5. Hey superb website! Does running a blog similar to this take a great deal of work? I’ve absolutely no understanding of computer programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject however I just had to ask. Many thanks!

    Like

  6. Please let me know if you’re looking for a guest author for your blog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. I write a mommy blog and I live in Chicago but I visit the Caribbean a few times per year and I have scuba dived the at many different ship wrecks.

    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Thank you!

    Like

  7. Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth be told was a amusing account it. I’ve never known that slugs turn into butterflies.

    Great article.

    Like

  8. Admiring the persistence you put into your site and detailed information you
    offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google
    account.

    Like

  9. whoah this weblog is magnificent i like reading your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You already know, lots of persons are
    looking around for this information, you could help them greatly.

    Like

  10. I was very happy to find this website. I need to to thank you for your
    time for this wonderful read!! I definitely savored every part of it and I have you bookmarked to look at new information in your site.

    Like

  11. Hi there everybody, here every one is sharing these familiarity, so it’s pleasant to read this blog, and I
    used to visit this weblog everyday.

    Like

  12. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great
    work, have a nice holiday weekend!

    Like

  13. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your put up
    is simply spectacular and that i could think you’re a professional on this subject.
    Well along with your permission let me to grasp your feed to keep updated with imminent post.
    Thank you one million and please keep up the rewarding work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

