Becoming a Dive Master- Zero to Hero

I hit 60 dives yesterday while assisting with a class of new students.  It is hard to comprehend that I had never taken an underwater dive prior to starting my first class less just over 3 months ago.  I took the route, which is referred to as” zero to hero.  I scheduled most of my training in advance and moved from one certification to the next in quick succession.

Dive Master- Zero to Hero

A Dive Master’s day can be tiring but is truly rewarding!

I feel happy about my competency and I learn a few things in each new dive.  My skills are definitely coming up and I am proud of my pace of study.  I really enjoy working with new students and helping them to overcome difficulties underwater.  I am getting through with my dive master training program and I have only a few skills left before I will take my assessment test.  I am anxious to finish but the next few months will be filled with helping with classes, much the same as I do currently.

I descended to 95 feet on a deep dive over the weekend at the quarry.  It was a good dive but it was extremely cold, 46 degrees.  I’ve gone deep before but this was a new spot and the visibility was very low in the dark murky water.  I realized quickly that I need to invest in a new dive light that has powerful LED and lumens.

I completed my mapping project in an underwater navigational dive.  I was really surprised that I was able to get exactly where I needed to go by use of my compass and computer, through the murky water.  This was a much longer and challenging dive than others that I have done in the past.  I realized that I need to trust in the compass and pay close attention because of the low visibility water.  I figured out that I need to invest in a better dive slate.  I’ve seen a lot of divers with wrist mounted versions and I plan to get one on Amazon.com today.

I feel confident in my gear and I am happy that I got quality stuff that should last me a decade or so with good maintenance.  I realized I need a new pair of fins that fit better and has spring straps.

I decided to set goals for myself as I progressed through my training.  My next goal is to hit 120 dives before we leave Austin in July and get scheduled for my Instructor Development Course (IDC) in August or September.  I plan to get certified to teach 5 specialties at the same time so I can get my Master Scuba Diver Trainer rating at the same time.  My plan is to teach in the Florida Keys during the winter until we make the gulf crossing in December.  I think I am on track to accomplish my goals.

 

Leave a Reply

