Best Photography Workshop

The Curious Critters animal photography workshop, right up my ally and was by far the most fun of any workshop I have attended! We used this great product called a Cubelite, which double as a small contained studio, defused and a cage. I though that 4 year old boys were hard to photograph, boy was I wrong! The prairie dog gave me, and everybody else including our instructor a run for our money, all the little guy wanted to do was jump in my lap and borough his way into my shirt. I made a couple new friends!

Prairie Dog

Prairie Dog

The parrot that we had the opportunity to photograph had the neatest personality, she would bow her head to get a scratch and when you should stop she would bite you, like a spoiled cat!  A parrot is defiantly on my wish list of pets, I always wanted a Macaw, but now I think I want one of these gal’s. We learned a lot about MACRO settings, such as an f/16 is the best aperture to shoot, for detailed MACRO shots, all this time I’ve been trying to shoot at an f/2.8, just because I can:)Animal Photography

Happy First Mate

Happy First Mate

The Cubelite lightbox/critter cage was invaluable for this type of project, The whole system fold flat into a 24″ in diameter circle, almost exactly like any reflector or window shade that you would use in your car. They are about $150 for the “outdoor” model, which is the one you want if you are going to photograph animals that would rather not participate.

2 week old Monkey

2 week old Monkey

I fell in love with this two week old baby monkey! His head was no larger than a ping-pong ball, he squeaked and called for his human mommy. Unbearably cute! The woman who had brought the animals in for our photo-shoot, took these curious critters to schools to teach help children develop a love and respect for animals and nature.

I also found out that she bred and sold these monkeys, four a year and sold then for (drum roll please..) $2700 each! I begged Robb, of course he said no (boo), my argument was that if he won’t a free to one more baby, he owes me a baby monkey. He wasn’t going for it, but hey I tried.Animal PhotogrraphyBy far the best behaved was the bearded dragon, he was content to just pose and have his picture taken in the warm light of the strobes. This I think would make a perfect pet for a little boy, so mellow for a reptile.

Bearded Dragon

Bearded Dragon

Then there was the grouchy old hedge hog, that had gotten into a box of crayons at his owner’s house and decided to eat the green. I never though about how hard it would be to get crayon off of a hedge hog, but I can imagine!

Hedge Hog

Hedge Hog

Hedge Hog

Hedge Hog

The there were the happy raisin loving but very bouncy chinchillas, we had a chance to snap a few of a very dark almost black and a blonde. I asked if anybody knew where I could find 200 of the soft little guys, but nobody laughed.

Chinchilla

Chinchilla

Blonde Chinchilla

Blonde Chinchilla

..and this is where all the magic happened, the Cubelite!Cubelite Animal Studio

 

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

The First Mate of Miss Lone Star

Leave a Reply

