Getting Nervous! 1 Week Until We Depart!

I am writing this with a few butterflies in my stomach and thinking about our departure in eight short days!  It is hard to believe that our dream has almost come true!  We are really looking forward to our trip and getting underway.  I am personally looking forward to saying good-bye to a house payment and all of the utilities that come with it.  I realize that we will be trading some expenses for an increased cost of fuel for a while but our monthly savings will be huge for us.Star Fist on St. Croix, USVI

It still astounds me that we could save money while living and cruising our boat to new and exciting places.  I was dreaming about catching fish from our boat last night.  We ate fish tacos and tired out another fish sauce that Aubrey has perfected.  I expect that we will be eating a lot of fish each week.  I will be happy to say good-bye to that expense too.  Grocery store fish and lobster sucks and it costs too much!

The price of gas on the ocean is much better than inland: $3.79 per gallon!

We have just a few last things to sell and we are almost completely packed.  Our storage pod is loaded with all of the non furniture stuff we had in the house.  Aubrey has packed the kitchen up completely and our closets have nothing in them.  Aubrey was a good girl and really got rid of a lot of stuff.  She only took two large boxes of clothes and 1 box of shoes.  I have a sneaking suspicion that she hid a box or tow that she didn’t tell me about in the pod when I wasn’t looking.

We are waiting patiently on the upholstery guy and I plan to stalk him later today.  The boat repair yard doesn’t have that much stuff to do before the boat is detailed.  I spoke to the transporter and I think he will be on time.  He knows that if he misses the date, we will have to stay in a hotel and I hope he knows the kids would drive us crazy.

I guess it is about time to schedule our utilities to be turned off and forward the mail.  I’ve moved a lot in my lifetime but it’s never made me so nervous.

4 thoughts on “Getting Nervous! 1 Week Until We Depart!

Leave a Reply

